How do I cite sources (or make a bibliography)?
Need to build a bibliography and you're not sure how to make a citation for your books and articles? Try the following resources for guidance or assistance:
Use a Citation Guide
The Al Harris Library has excellent information on creating a bibliography or reference page and on formatting in-text citations, or choose from the following list of individual citation style information:
- Modern Language Association (MLA) - MLA Citation Style Guide.
- American Psychological Association (APA) - APA Citation Style Guide.
- Chicago - the Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style guide, or this quick guide to Chicago-Style citations.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) - Try Penn State University Libraries' ACS Quick Guide
- Annotated Bibliograpies - Writing an Annotated Bibliograpy
The Al Harris Library also owns print copies of most citation manuals (search Catalog for specific titles or contact our library staff for more assistance).
Let the Discovery Search Make a Citation For You
When you're using Discovery, or our individual article databases you can find a citation in the format you need. In Discovery, look for the Cite link iconunder tools (in the right column) after search results are displayed: format in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and Turabian. In other EBSCOhost databases (e.g.,Academic Search Complete), you'll also see a Cite choice when you view an individual article that will format citations in several styles. Most of our other databases have their own internal citation formatters as well.
Enter Your Citation Information Into a Formatter
The North Carolina State University Libraries Citation Builder will create citations for you in MLA, APA, Chicago, or CSE/CBE formats. Just choose the type of citation you need and enter your citation information. BibMe is also a formatter, with many more citation styles available. It works well for individual citations, but you need to sign up for a premium account to create and download an entire bibliography.
Use a Citation Manager to Gather Citations and Create Bibliographies
There are tools available that you can use to collect citations from databases and then create bibliographies in any style that you need. Zotero and Mendely are open source options. The library also has RefWorks.