Meta Search WebsitesOther Search Possibilities
This is the "Home" page of the "Writing Research Papers for English Composition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing Research Papers for English Composition  

Here is information to assist you in finding resources for the writing of research essays for !213 English Composition II.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://campusguides.swosu.edu/researchpapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference and Digitization Librarian

Profile Image
Phillip Fitzsimmons
Contact Info
Al Harris Library
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
(580) 774-3030
ref desk: (580) 774-7082
Send Email

Instructional Services Librarian

Profile Image
Frederic Murray
Contact Info
Al Harris Library,
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Phone: 580 774 7113
Ref Desk: 580 774-7082
Send Email

Director of Libraries

Profile Image
Jason Dupree
Contact Info
Director of Libraries
SWOSU Libraries
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Office: (580) 774-7081
Ref Desk: (580) 774-7082
Send Email
 
 

Home

Welcome!

This guide offers helpful links and advice for researching and writing expository and argumentative essays for your 1213 English Composition II class.  It features:

  • Advice on topic selection
  • Information about choosing quality web sites
  • Help with writing the Works Cited page
 

Choosing a Topic

One of the hardest parts of writing a paper is choosing a topic. Sometimes you will be given a list of topics from which to choose. At other times, you may be given a set of broad guidelines from which to choose. Basic areas for possibilities include: arts and humanities, science and technology, social sciences, education, current affairs, and popular culture.

According to Dr. Mike Palmquist, author of The Bedford Researcher, "Narrowing your focus to a single issue lays the groundwork for developing the research question that will frame your thinking about that issues and guides your efforts to gain a comprehensive understanding of it."  This is basically your goal.  Do some exploration in order to locate a topic that is of interest to you, consider your purpose for writing, and decide what question you want to answer through your research.

Fortunately, many books and web sites that list topics in a vast, variety of subject areas are available for your use. A good place in the library for you to begin your search is in the area of reference. General and/or subject specific encyclopedias are excellent sources for background information that could help you find a topic. Book series such as Great Events from History and books edited by Frank N. Magill cover a variety of subjects.

Several excellent general encyclopedias are available to you online through the library. They are:

Encyclopedia Britannica
The complete text and images of the print version is available to you through this link. The online version also includes multimedia sound and video resources, an atlas, web links, and news updates.

 

 

 
The Funk and Wagnalls is an encyclopedia that includes basic information on a large variety of subjects.

Oxford Reference Online Premium (including Literature and Western Civilization Collections)
The Oxford Reference collection includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timeslines, and and encyclopedia.
 
 

 

 

 

Credo Reference is an excellent place to look for topic ideas.  The database includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, and measurement conversions. It is a great place to begin searching for topic ideas.
 
 

Important Library Links

Here are links to significant places to look for information as you are conducting research:

SWOSU Libraries Home Page

Instruction Page

CampusGuides

P.A.W. -- Planning Assignments Wisely

Worksheets and Handouts

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip